The P word

where everyone can find World P's.

Paki…

No, I am not an activist, but when an opportunity such as this presents itself, I make sure I am counted, I make sure I am heard.

Pakialam

As a citizen of this nation, I make sure that I perform the basic duties required of such a title. I pay my taxes, I vote during local and national elections, and I make sure that I pay attention to certain issues faces by the citizenry.

Just like any other nation, The Philippines has its share of issues and concerns. Without these, the leading broadsheets (and tabloids, needless to say) will be as blank and bland as toilet paper. Not that I have tasted toilet paper, but I can imagine it’d be tasteless.

Today’s Million People March in Luneta was no different from the many street demonstrations held over the colorful history of this island nation. Lots of people attended, emotions flared, hostile chants echoed and rang, fists were raised, effigies paraded, cops were put on alert, and so on. I don’t automatically attend these protests just because there are protests. I make sure I am with the program first.

I do admit, I did not want to attend EDSA DOS because I felt it was just another one of those displays of the bandwagon effect, plus I still believe that Singson is just as guilty of the crime, but when the envelope that would have shed light on the truth was kept from the people, I felt that he just sealed his fate. So despite the fact that I had a gut feel that his next-in-line would be just as crooked (or worse), I joined the rest of the concerned citizens in the call for resignation.

Today at Luneta was no different. Something told me that no matter how many people attend the rally, the poderosos who call the shots would still turn a deaf ear. Then I remembered Edward Burke’s words:

the only way for evil to prevail is for good men to do nothing.

So, I made the best of my holiday. I made myself heard. Ako ay nakialam.

Pakikisama

When attending things like this, I make it a point to bring people who share the same sentiments. It’s not that I am ashamed to go alone, or that I need someone to go with me. it’s just that when emotions and sentiments are shared, they grow exponentially. Even when two or three get together and discuss how something should be done, emotions and convictions light up the room like fireworks in Binondo on Chinese New Year.

Sometimes, invitations among friends could lead to them bringing their other friends until what started as an outing for four ends up becoming a mass of four hundred. Though the group I was with today wasn’t exactly that big, it was certainly strong enough to hold its own pocket chants among the millions in attendance.

Though this may be an annoying scapegoat of Filipino Culture (which leads us back to the bandwagon effect, or bad influence barkadas convincing you to join the outing or risk losing their friendship), Pakikisama , or the need to belong, is certainly in our blood.

Pakikibaka

Though normally associated with rallyists, activists and leftists, this word was used loosely as part of the play of words that makes the Filipino Language very colorful.

The chant-slogan for the Million Person March in Luneta went thus:

Makibaka! huwag magbaboy!

In essence, the chant calls for the participation of everyone in the cause to scrap the corruption-laden PDAF or “Pork Barrel” Fund. However, in Filipino, Baka (taken from the Spanish word Vaca) can also mean Cow, and Baboy is Filipino for Pig, while also hinting at the abused and misused government fund.

20130826-170308.jpg

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 26, 2013 by and tagged , , , , .
